Getting Divorced in Nevada | hacked by king almafia

Getting Divorced in Nevada

You might not have guessed, but the state with the highest divorce rate is Nevada. This is not entirely because Nevadans are bad at handling issues that arise in their marriage; the reason the divorce rate in Nevada is so high is because many people establish temporary residency to take advantage of their lax divorce laws.

Could a divorce in Nevada be right for you?

Most states require you to be a resident for usually 6 months to a year before you are eligible to get divorced in that state. In Nevada, one need only be a resident for six weeks before a court will oblige your request to divorce. Nevada uses a no fault divorce system which means that there does not need to be a proof of fault from either party. In other words, as long as both parties are in agreement about getting divorced, that’s good enough in Nevada. New York is the only state that requires proof of fault for a divorce. Every other state uses the no fault system to some extent. However, Nevada is known for its speedy divorce court system that will process simple divorces quickly and will not impose any type of minimum separation periods on couples.

In Nevada, a divorce can be achieved in as little as a week assuming residency requirements have been met and all issues between the couple have been resolved.

Nevada is a community property state meaning all property acquired by the couple during their marriage will be split 50-50 if the couple cannot reach an agreement. For instance, if Jim and Suzy bought a house for $100,000 during their marriage, they will either need to sell the house and split the proceeds upon divorce, or whichever one of them that is keeping the house will need to give the other half of the value of the house. Property that was inherited during the marriage is generally considered separate if it was willed exclusively to you.

Establishing residency in Nevada

In order to get a divorce in Nevada, one of the two parties needs to be a Nevada resident. To establish residency in Nevada, one must have lived in the state for six weeks and provide proof of this residency through a signed affidavit in which another resident confirms that they have seen you living there for six weeks. The witness resident must be at least 18 years of age. In the event that a court seeks further proof of your residency, it may be beneficial to possess a Nevada state driver’s license as well as an apartment lease. Nevada does require that the resident seeking a divorce to have the intent to remain in the state for longer than six weeks.

Child support in Nevada

Nevada courts will award the parent receiving custody of any children with a minimum of $100 and a maximum of $500 per month, per child. The exact figure is determined by the payee’s gross monthly income. This system is generally more friendly towards the non-custodial parent than many other states which is another reason why getting divorced in Nevada is popular.

Disclaimer: This site receives commissions from products featured on this website.